MBioLIMS BioBanking® equips Endodiag’s EndoBiobank®
28 November 2017
Helmholtz Zentrum München uses MBioLIMS BioBanking® to manage the GPPAD biobank for primary prevention clinical trials in type 1 diabetes across multiple sites in Europe
17 May 2018
Show all

The BRC-Auvergne uses MBioLIMS BioBanking®

The ELODIE-MG project aims to create a national collection of biological samples from patients suffering from a rare disorder called Gaucher disease, to gain further knowledge of mechanisms and responses to specific treatments.
What is Gaucher disease?
Gaucher disease is a genetic disorder caused by a hereditary deficiency of the enzyme glucocerebrosidase (a lysosomal enzyme). It leads to an accumulation of glucocerebroside in cells, and particularly in macrophage cells called Gaucher cells (after the physician who originally described them). These cells are considered to be responsible for the disease affecting certain organs (bone marrow, spleen, liver, bones). The symptoms vary greatly, and range from slight to severe, at any time in life, from early childhood to adulthood. One particular and very rare form can also affect the nervous system. Approximately 1 person in 60,000 suffers from Gaucher disease worldwide, i.e. less than 10,000 people. Some 500 patients are currently numbered in France.
By using a synthetic enzyme, administered by perfusion, most symptoms can be controlled except for neurological disorders. However, the therapeutic responses vary from one patient to another and are regularly monitored, both biologically and on the internal organs and bones. The biological samples (blood, bone marrow, biopsies, etc.) are particularly valuable in the case of a rare disorder, as they enable studies to be done over a short period of time without waiting for the inclusion of a sufficient number of new patients, which can take several years. These samples are vital for research into new physio-pathological mechanisms, and to gain insight into the course of the illness and its response to treatments, with a view to optimizing is management.
The MBioLIMS BioBanking® software is vital in the running of the BRC-Auvergne. It is a reliable tool that offers real-time knowledge of the samples collected, management of relevant related data and full process traceability. This quality guarantee is vital for all the stakeholders, with a view to further development, in order to generate future benefits for patients who suffer from this rare disease
What is the ELODIE-MG project?
The ELODIE-MG project consists in setting up a multi-centre organisation to identify, store, record and centralise the samples of patients suffering from Gaucher disease in France, and thereby create a single biological collection of all the samples received by different clinical laboratories. This project is run under the stewardship of the CETG, a national group of experts in the disease.
A first development phase involves four specialised labs: Biological Haematology unit of the Estaing University Hospital in Clermont-Ferrand (Pr M. Berger); Inherited Metabolic Disorders and Neonatal Screening Unit, Centre for Biology East / Hospital Group East, HCL, Bron (Dr R. Froissart); Laboratory of Metabolic Biochemistry, Federative Institute of Biology of Toulouse (Pr T. Levade); and Laboratory of Biochemistry, Metabolomics and Proteomics, Necker-Enfants Malades Institute in Paris (Dr C. Caillaud).
The samples are recorded in the MBioLIMS BioBanking® software program by one of the four specialised labs. Thanks to this highly secure software, patient inclusion and consent management is centralised, and the biological samples and their related data are anonymized and managed. The samples are then transferred for long-term storage to the BRC-Auvergne which coordinates and manages the entire ELODIE-MG collection. This collection is integrated into the Gaucher disease Competence Centre (Pr M. Berger) (Reference Centre for Lysosomal diseases (Dr B. Héron), inherited metabolic disorders unit (Pr B. Chabrol)). Each patient is asked to give their informed consent.
The collection will be a source of samples for researchers working on projects selected by the CETG. The samples may also be sold for research conducted by organisations abroad. A second stage (2020) will consist in extending this organisation to any other specialised laboratory involved in diagnosing or monitoring this rare disease.
Pr Marc BERGER, coordinator of the BRC-Auvergne and President of the Gaucher Disease Treatment Evaluation Committee (CETG) said: "The MBioLIMS BioBanking® software is vital in the running of the BRC-Auvergne and for the creation of this national collection of patient samples. Thanks to cooperation between BRC-Auvergne and Modul-Bio, a functional, practical and intuitive interface has been developed between users in the centres and the MBioLIMS BioBanking® program installed at the University Hospital in Clermont-Ferrand. It is a reliable tool that offers real-time knowledge of the samples collected, management of relevant related data and full process traceability. This quality guarantee is vital for all the stakeholders, with a view to further development, in order to generate future benefits for patients who suffer from this rare disease".

About BRC-Auvergne

The Biological Resource Centre Auvergne (BRC-A) is an operational platform with all the competences necessary to create a collection of human biological samples for research purposes, at the request of any researcher. All of the BRC-A's activities have been NF S 96-900-certified since April 2013. This standard guarantees the quality of the biological resources, and of the related data, as well as the traceability of every step (preparation, sample quality controls, storage, related data management, transfer and provision of samples). The BRC-A currently has 57,000 samples including 6,400 (280 patients) for the Elodie-MG collection. All the regulatory authorisations have been obtained to be able to provide a swift and optimal response to any request from a French or international team of researchers.

MBioLIMS BioBanking® équipe l’EndoBiobank® d’Endodiag
28 novembre 2017
Montrer tous

Le CRB-Auvergne utilise le logiciel MBioLIMS BioBanking®

L’objectif du projet ELODIE-MG est de constituer une collection biologique nationale pour disposer d’échantillons biologiques de patients atteints par une maladie rare, la maladie de Gaucher, afin de mieux en comprendre les mécanismes et les réponses aux traitements spécifiques.
Qu’est-ce que la maladie de Gaucher ?
La maladie de Gaucher est une affection génétique, héréditaire, secondaire à une déficience enzymatique en glucocérébrosidase (une enzyme lysosomale) qui conduit à une accumulation de glucocérébroside dans les cellules et en particulier dans les cellules macrophagiques appelées cellules de Gaucher (du nom du médecin les ayant décrites pour la première fois) ; ces cellules sont considérées comme les responsables de l’atteinte de certains organes (moelle osseuse, rate, foie, os). Les symptômes sont très variables, de gravité légère à sévère, à tout moment, depuis la petite enfance jusqu’à l’âge adulte. Une forme particulière, très rare, comprend une atteinte neurologique. La maladie de Gaucher touche environ 1 personne sur 60 000 dans le monde, soit moins de 10 000 personnes. Actuellement, environ 500 patients sont recensés en France.
L’utilisation d’une enzyme de synthèse, administrée en perfusion, permet de contrôler la plupart des symptômes en dehors de l’atteinte neurologique. Cependant, les réponses thérapeutiques sont variables d’un patient à l’autre et font l’objet d’un suivi régulier, tant sur le plan biologique que sur le plan viscéral ou osseux. Les prélèvements biologiques (sang, moelle osseuse, biopsie, etc.) sont particulièrement précieux dans le cas d’une maladie rare car ils permettent de réaliser des études sur une période courte sans attendre l’inclusion d’un nombre suffisant de nouveaux patients qui peut demander plusieurs années. Ces échantillons sont indispensables pour rechercher de nouveaux mécanismes physiopathologiques, et mieux comprendre l’évolution de la maladie et sa réponse aux traitements, préalable à une optimisation de sa prise en charge.
Le logiciel MBioLIMS BioBanking® est essentiel au bon fonctionnement du CRB-Auvergne. Cet outil fiable permet la connaissance en temps réel des échantillons collectés, la gestion de données associées pertinentes et la traçabilité de tout le processus. Ce gage de qualité est indispensable pour tous les acteurs, pour une prochaine valorisation, essentielle pour un futur bénéfice pour les patients atteints de cette maladie rare.
En quoi consiste le projet ELODIE-MG ?
Le projet ELODIE-MG consiste à mettre en place une organisation multicentrique pour identifier, conserver, répertorier et centraliser les échantillons des patients atteints de maladie de Gaucher en France, et ainsi constituer une seule et même collection biologique réunissant les échantillons reçus par différents laboratoires d’analyses. Ce projet est mis en place sous l’égide du CETG, groupe national d’experts de la maladie.
Dans une première phase de développement, 4 laboratoires spécialisés sont impliqués : service d’Hématologie Biologique du CHU Estaing à Clermont-Ferrand (Pr M. Berger), Unité des Maladies Héréditaires du Métabolisme et de dépistage Néonatal, Centre de Biologie Est / Groupement Hospitalier Est, HCL, Bron (Dr R. Froissart), Laboratoire de Biochimie Métabolique, Institut Fédératif de Biologie à Toulouse (Pr T. Levade) et Laboratoire de Biochimie, Métabolomique et Protéomique, Institut Necker-Enfants Malades à Paris (Dr C. Caillaud).
Les prélèvements sont enregistrés dans le logiciel MBioLIMS BioBanking® depuis l’un des quatre laboratoires spécialisés. Ce logiciel hautement sécurisé permet une gestion centralisée des inclusions et du consentement des patients, l’anonymisation et la gestion des échantillons biologiques et de leurs données associées. Les échantillons sont ensuite transférés pour une conservation à long terme au CRB-Auvergne qui coordonne et gère la globalité de la collection ELODIE-MG. La collection ELODIE-MG est intégrée dans le centre de Compétence de la maladie de Gaucher (Pr M. Berger) (Centre de Référence des maladies Lysosomales (Dr B. Héron), filière G2M (Pr B. Chabrol)). Un consentement éclairé du patient est proposé à chaque patient.
Cette collection alimentera en échantillons les chercheurs de projets sélectionnés par le CETG. Les échantillons pourront être également cédés pour des recherches effectuées par des organismes étrangers. Une deuxième étape (2020) consistera à étendre cette organisation à tout autre laboratoire spécialisé concerné par le diagnostic ou le suivi de cette maladie rare.
Le Pr Marc BERGER, coordonnateur du CRB-Auvergne et président du Comité d'Evaluation du Traitement de la maladie de Gaucher (CETG) : « Le logiciel MBioLIMS BioBanking® est essentiel au bon fonctionnement du CRB-Auvergne et pour la constitution de cette collection nationale d’échantillons de patients. La collaboration entre le CRB-Auvergne et Modul-Bio a permis de mettre en place une interface fonctionnelle, pratique, intuitive entre les utilisateurs des centres et le logiciel MBioLIMS BioBanking® installé au CHU de Clermont-Ferrand. Cet outil fiable permet la connaissance en temps réel des échantillons collectés, la gestion de données associées pertinentes et la traçabilité de tout le processus. Ce gage de qualité est indispensable pour tous les acteurs, pour une prochaine valorisation, essentielle pour un futur bénéfice pour les patients atteints de cette maladie rare ».

A propos du CRB-Auvergne

Le Centre de Ressources Biologiques Auvergne (CRB-A) est une plateforme opérationnelle qui réunit les compétences pour constituer, à la demande de tout chercheur, une collection d’échantillons biologiques humains à visée de recherche. L’ensemble des activités du CRB-A est certifié selon la norme NF S 96-900 depuis avril 2013. Cette norme garantit la qualité des ressources biologiques, des données associées et la traçabilité de toutes les étapes (Préparation, contrôles qualité des échantillons, mise en stock, gestion des données associées, cession des échantillons, mise à disposition). A ce jour, le CRB-A héberge 57000 échantillons dont 6400 (280 patients) pour la collection Elodie-MG. Toutes les autorisations règlementaires ont été obtenues pour répondre rapidement et de façon optimale à toute demande d’une équipe de recherche française ou étrangère.