The BRC-Auvergne uses MBioLIMS BioBanking®
6 February 2018
Show all

Helmholtz Zentrum München uses MBioLIMS BioBanking® to manage the GPPAD biobank for primary prevention clinical trials in type 1 diabetes across multiple sites in Europe

The Global Platform for the Prevention of Autoimmune Diabetes (GPPAD) has launched the Primary Oral Insulin Trial (POInT) aimed at preventing the development of type 1 diabetes in at-risk children. MBioLIMS Biobanking® was chosen to manage the samples collected from new-borns across five sites in Europe.
What is type 1 diabetes?
Type 1 diabetes results from an autoimmune destruction of the insulin-producing beta cells within the pancreatic islets of Langerhans.
According to the International Diabetes Federation, as of 2017 an estimated 425 million people have diabetes worldwide, of which type 1 diabetes accounts for between 5 and 10 percent. Compared to other regions, Europe has the highest number of children and adolescents (0-19 years) with type 1 diabetes, with 286,000 cases and one of the highest numbers of new cases per year.
Genetic testing for susceptibility to type 1 diabetes can help identify new-borns at risk of developing auto-antibodies against their pancreatic beta cells. This development of auto-antibodies in the blood marks the start of type 1 diabetes-associated autoimmunity. Hence, biological samples are vital for conducting type 1 diabetes prevention trials.
80.000 samples of six different sample types will be registered for this study in the MBioLIMS, which makes it a key component in this clinical trial
What is the GPPAD project?
GPPAD was established in 2015 in Germany, the United Kingdom, Sweden, Belgium, and Poland with the intention to create an infrastructure for identifying new-borns at high-risk of developing type 1 diabetes to conduct primary prevention trials. The platform includes testing sites, a data coordinating centre that provides a database, data analysis, a biorepository, procedures for regulatory approval, a pharmacy, and a communication centre.
The first primary prevention trial to be conducted in the GPPAD platform is the Primary Oral Insulin Therapy (POInT). It is a randomised controlled phase II/III trial using autoantigen-based therapy. It focuses on oral insulin therapy with an objective to test its efficacy in reducing the incidence of beta- cell autoimmunity in at-risk children. The goal is to induce immune tolerance against one auto-antigen before the start of beta-cell autoimmunity. It is expected that other therapeutic approaches to prevent type 1 diabetes will be carried out within the clinical platform in the future.
How is MBioLIMS BioBanking® contributing to the GPPAD project?
In a continuation of the successful collaboration between Helmholtz Zentrum München and Modul- Bio, GPPAD will use MBioLIMS Biobanking® to manage the samples of multiple clinical studies. In the POInT study, the application supports GPPAD in effectively conducting the collection, shipment, and storage of samples and in handling the overall biosample flow among the GPPAD sites in Europe, the central laboratory in Munich, and the biobank in Luxembourg. The five European centres involved are: UZ Leuven in Belgium, Institute of Diabetes Research - Helmholtz Zentrum München in Germany, Institute of Mother and Child in Warsaw, Poland, Lund University in Sweden, and Churchill Hospital in Headington, U.K.
Dr. Florian Haupt, study coordinator at Helmholtz Zentrum München, explains: “The POInT study plans to include more than 1000 children over a period of four years. To evaluate the immune response to the treatment, up to 80.000 samples of six different sample types will be registered for this study in the MBioLIMS, which makes it a key component in this clinical trial”.
Owing to the software’s high throughput capacity, secure software, and user-friendliness, subject inclusion and consent management are centralised, while biological samples are anonymised and managed. Its traceability, advanced reporting functionalities, and seamless integration with the existing infrastructure further assist in the management of the project.
Aligning with the vision of the Helmsley Charitable Trust to improve outcomes, delay, and ultimately prevent type 1 diabetes, and thanks to Helmsley funding, GPPAD will implement a global effort to collect samples from new-borns at risk, and later from the population at large, across Europe for diagnosis and prevention.

About GPPAD

GPPAD is an initiative funded by The Leona M. and Harry B. Helmsley Charitable Trust. Its long-term vision is to stop the trend of increasing incidence of childhood type 1 diabetes via coordinated global efforts to launch controlled preventive trials.

Le CRB-Auvergne utilise le logiciel MBioLIMS BioBanking®
6 février 2018
Montrer tous

Helmholtz Zentrum München utilise MBioLIMS BioBanking® pour gérer la biobanque GPPAD dans le cadre d’essais cliniques de prévention primaire du diabète de type 1 sur plusieurs sites en Europe

La Plate-forme mondiale pour la prévention du diabète auto-immunes (Global Platform for the Prevention of Autoimmune Diabetes - GPPAD) a lancé l'essai primaire avec un traitement par insuline orale (POInT) visant à prévenir le développement du diabète de type 1 chez les enfants à risque. MBioLIMS Biobanking® a été choisi pour gérer les échantillons prélevés de nouveau-nés sur cinq sites en Europe.
Qu'est-ce que le diabète de type 1 ?
Le diabète de type 1 résulte d'une destruction auto-immune des cellules bêta productrices d'insuline dans les îlots pancréatiques de Langerhans.
Selon la Fédération Internationale du Diabète, environ 425 millions de personnes souffrent actuellement de diabète dans le monde, dont le diabète de type 1 qui en représente entre 5 et 10%. Par rapport aux autres régions, l'Europe compte le plus grand nombre d'enfants et d'adolescents (0-19 ans) atteints de diabète de type 1 avec 286 000 cas, et l'un des nombres les plus élevés de nouveaux cas par an.
Les tests génétiques de prédisposition au diabète de type 1 peuvent aider à identifier les nouveau-nés à risque de développer des auto-anticorps contre leurs cellules bêta pancréatiques. Ce développement d'auto-anticorps dans le sang marque le début de l'auto-immunité associée au diabète de type 1. Par conséquent, les échantillons biologiques sont essentiels pour mener des essais de prévention du diabète de type 1.
jusqu'à 80 000 échantillons de six natures différentes seront enregistrés pour cette étude dans le logiciel MBioLIMS, ce qui en fait un élément clé dans cet essai clinique
Qu'est-ce que le projet GPPAD ?
GPPAD a été créé en 2015 en Allemagne, au Royaume-Uni, en Suède, en Belgique et en Pologne, avec l'intention de créer une infrastructure pour identifier les nouveau-nés à haut risque de développer un diabète de type 1 afin de mener des essais de prévention primaire. La plate-forme comprend des sites cliniques, un centre de coordination de données équipé d’un logiciel pour la centralisation et l’analyse des données qui fournit un référentiel de données et des procédures d'autorisation réglementaire, mais aussi une pharmacie et un centre de communication.
Le premier essai de prévention primaire à être mené sur la plate-forme GPPAD est la thérapie par insuline orale primaire (POInT). Il s'agit d'un essai randomisé contrôlé de phase II/III utilisant une thérapie basée sur l'autoantigène. L’étude se focalise sur l'insulinothérapie par voie orale dans le but de tester son efficacité à réduire l'incidence de l'auto-immunité des cellules bêta chez les enfants à risque. Le but est l’induction d’une tolérance immunitaire contre un auto-antigène avant le début de l'auto-immunité contre les cellules bêta.
D'autres approches thérapeutiques pour prévenir du diabète de type 1 seront prochainement réalisées en utilisant cette plate-forme clinique.
Comment MBioLIMS BioBanking® contribue-t-il au projet GPPAD ?
Dans la continuité de la collaboration fructueuse entre l’Institut Helmholtz Zentrum München et Modul-Bio, GPPAD utilisera MBioLIMS BioBanking® pour gérer les échantillons de plusieurs études cliniques. Dans l'étude POInT, le logiciel permet au projet GPPAD une conduite efficace des prélèvements, l'expédition et le stockage des échantillons, et la gestion du flux global d'échantillons biologiques entre les sites GPPAD en Europe, le laboratoire central de Munich et la biobanque au Luxembourg. Les cinq centres européens impliqués sont : UZ Leuven en Belgique, Institut de Recherche sur le Diabète - Helmholtz Zentrum München en Allemagne, Institut de la Mère et de l'Enfant à Varsovie en Pologne, Lund University en Suède et Churchill Hospital à Headington au Royaume-Uni.
Le Dr. Florian Haupt, coordinateur d'études au Helmholtz Zentrum München, explique : "L'étude POInT prévoit d'inclure plus de 1000 enfants sur une période de quatre ans. Pour évaluer la réponse immunitaire au traitement, jusqu'à 80 000 échantillons de six natures différentes seront enregistrés pour cette étude dans le MBioLIMS, ce qui en fait un élément clé dans cet essai clinique”.
En raison du grand nombre de fonctionnalités, de la sécurité et de la convivialité du logiciel, l'inclusion des sujets et la gestion des consentements sont centralisées et les échantillons biologiques sont anonymisés et tracés sur l’ensemble des sites. Sa traçabilité, ses fonctionnalités avancées de préparation de rapports et son intégration transparente avec l'infrastructure existante contribuent également à une gestion optimale du projet GPPAD.
En accord avec la vision du Helmsley Charitable Trust pour améliorer les résultats, retarder et à terme prévenir du diabète de type 1, et grâce au financement Helmsley, GPPAD s’engage à recueillir des échantillons des nouveau-nés à risque, et plus tard, tous ceux de l’ensemble de la population étudiée à travers l'Europe pour le diagnostic et la prévention de cette pathologie.

A propos de GPPAD

GPPAD est une initiative financée par Leona M. et Harry B. Helmsley Charitable Trust. Sa vision à long terme est d'arrêter la tendance à l'augmentation de l'incidence du diabète de type 1 chez les enfants grâce à des efforts coordonnés à l'échelle mondiale pour lancer des essais préventifs contrôlés.